Exodus 21:1 meaning

So begins a section known as the Book of the Covenant. It contains 42 judgments.

The first verse of the chapter serves as the title for the section of Exodus called “the Book of the Covenant,” a title given to it in Exodus 24:7. Many scholars think that the section starts in Exodus 20:22, where the rules for worshipping the LORD are stipulated. Within this section are 42 “judgments” designed to govern life in Israel.

The word translated ordinances (Heb. “mishpatim”) literally means “decisions.” They specified how judges in Israel were to deal with issues that arose in the daily life of the Israelites.

1 “Now these are the ordinances which you are to set before them:

Check out our other commentaries:

  • Matthew 8:14-17 meaning

    Matthew records his third account of a specific miracle. Jesus heals Peter’s mother-in-law of a fever. Later that evening some people bring Him many who......
  • Luke 15:1-2 meaning

    The people were coming to Jesus, especially the tax collectors and sinners who resonated with His inviting message of belonging and repentance. The overly legalistic......
  • Matthew 19:23-26 meaning

    Jesus says that is very difficult for a rich person to enter the kingdom of heaven. He compares this difficulty with a camel passing through......
  • 1 Thessalonians 2:13-18 meaning

    Paul tells the Thessalonians that they are suffering just as other believers do elsewhere, under persecution from people who oppose God. Paul misses the Thessalonians......
  • Exodus 17:8-16 meaning

    Another important event happened while the Israelites were at Rephadim. The Amalekites attacked them (8 – 16). Moses ordered Joshua to take an army to......