Luke 6:12-16

Verses covered in this passage:

  • Luke 6:12
  • Luke 6:13
  • Luke 6:14
  • Luke 6:15
  • Luke 6:16

Jesus chooses twelve disciples


To read our Matthew commentary that corresponds to this passage please CLICK HERE


Biblical Text:
12 It was at this time that He went off to the mountain to pray, and He spent the whole night in prayer to God. 13 And when day came, He called His disciples to Him and chose twelve of them, whom He also named as apostles: 14 Simon, whom He also named Peter, and Andrew his brother; and James and John; and Philip and Bartholomew; 15 and Matthew and Thomas; James the son of Alphaeus, and Simon who was called the Zealot; 16 Judas the son of James, and Judas Iscariot, who became a traitor.

Check out our other commentaries:

  • Ruth 2:8-13
    Boaz recognizes Ruth’s hardwork and care for her mother-in-law and tells her that he has instructed his servants not to touch her and that she......

  • Genesis 19:4-7
    The men of Sodom surrounded Lot’s house and demanded the two men be handed over to them to be sexually assaulted. Lot went outside to......

  • Daniel 3:24-27
    King Nebuchadnezzar witnesses a miracle. Shadrach, Meshach and Abed-nego are not killed by the fire. They are joined by an angel, and walk among the......

  • Ecclesiastes 7:1-6
    Some realities are difficult to accept but can lead to an awareness of the value of life. ......

  • Exodus 26:7-14
    In order to protect the curtains of the tabernacle, the LORD commands that another set of curtains be made. These curtains were to be made......