Exodus 20 Commentary

Please choose a passage:

Exodus 20:1-2

The prologue to the giving of the ten “words” identifies the Sovereign and His qualifications for establishing the rules in the covenant.

Exodus 20:3

The 1st commandment prohibits the worship of all other gods.

Exodus 20:4-6

The 2nd commandment bans the manufacture of idols or objects that represent nature to worship. The LORD will judge those who reject Him but reward those who love and obey Him.

Exodus 20:7

In the 3rd commandment, the LORD prohibits the association of God’s holy name to something that is common. He promises that the offender would be punished.

Exodus 20:8-11

The 4th commandment is to keep the sabbath day holy.

Exodus 20:12

The 5th commandment speaks of respecting one’s parents.

Exodus 20:13

The 6th commandment prohibits a person from the immoral taking of another person’s life.

Exodus 20:14

The 7th commandment prohibits sexual intercourse between a married person and another person, married or unmarried.

Exodus 20:15

The 8th commandment protects the private property of each person.

Exodus 20:16

The 9th commandment is to protect a person from harm based on untrue accusations.

Exodus 20:17

The 10th commandment is to not yearn or lust for that which belonged to others.

Exodus 20:18-21

The LORD manifested Himself in thunder, lightning, and smoke. The Israelites looked on in great dread, so much so that they asked Moses to speak to them instead of having the LORD speak to them.

Exodus 20:22-26

Having displayed His holiness in sight of all the people, the LORD then defined the proper format for worship.