Deuteronomy 18 Commentary

Please choose a passage:

Deuteronomy 18:1-8

Since the Levitical priests would minister before the LORD at the central sanctuary, they were not supposed to do any secular job. They were to depend upon the dues and offerings of the other tribes.

Deuteronomy 18:9-14

Moses discusses religious practices that are prohibited. He then describes the office of prophets who proclaimed the word of their LORD.

Deuteronomy 18:15-22

Moses then told the Israelites that after his death, the LORD would raise up prophets like himself. The people were to turn to these godly prophets for communication with God. God also predicts Jesus will be a prophet like Moses.